Lotus Eleven Register

Book Reviews

Lotus – The Story Of The Marque
Ian H. Smith, with additions by Michael Henderson


Published 1961 by Motor Racing Publications, Ltd. London    

This book contains the same text & photos as the previous (‘The First Ten Years’) up to chapter 16 covering the Elite, which is expanded with the many race event details.

New chapters detail the type 15, 16 F1, 17, 18 F1 & FJ and the type 19.

Missing is the chapter ‘From Personal Experience’ – details of Ian Smith’s hands on experiences with the Mk VI, Mk VII, Mk IX and Eleven, including the John O’Groats to Lands End adventure on British roadways in an Eleven.

Of special interest to Eleven owners and historians is the account of the Elevens entered with the type 15s in the 1959 LeMans, the only finishing Lotus was an Eleven!

  More difficult to locate than the previous book, it appears to have had a smaller printing run, this would be considered a real prize on any serious Lotus enthusiast’s book shelf.

-- Pat Dennis


Rescue & Restoration